Publicidad

Automatic deletion of inactive accounts

10 posts / 0 new
Super Member
<a href="/es/translator/slyzder" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1186400">Slyzder</a>
Se unió: 03.09.2013
Pending moderation

Hello,

I would like to suggest the automatic deletion of inactive accounts after a particular period of time. On the one hand, it apparently does not make sense anymore to have users keeping their profiles here despite not having been active since years, for instance, and, on the other hand, they might have lost their password as well as their email address or they are no longer conscious of being a member here in case that they have not been active for about ten years or longer. I am providing this reason because it has discernible to me that also users who have not been active for ten years or even longer are still registered as members on this site. Some time prior to an account being automatically deleted, of course, the user should receive an announcement email so that they are able to log back in and prevent this from being effected.
Hence, I made a Doodle poll in order to vote on this issue and I would like to ask you to participate if you like. Fixed periods of time before account deletion are available in the poll. Each member may cast one vote and the results are hidden. You can either enter your username on Lyricstranslate there or write that you're voting anonymously. I shall send the results to the moderators if enough people participated. Here is the link to it: https://doodle.com/poll/4pfd5wp2g9hvt7xp.

Moderator and earthbound misfit
<a href="/es/translator/icey" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1172336">Icey</a>
Se unió: 05.04.2013

I'm sorry, what's the problem with inactive accounts?
We editors and mods often have to deal with accounts of users who haven't logged in in a very long while, usually because they are breaking some rules (that maybe didn't exist when they were active) and having an account to look up makes things much easier. Some time ago, I had to remove some translations from the same (inactive) user because they broke some important rule we have. I knew what I was looking for, so I just had to look up the account I needed, identify the problematic content and remove it. When an account is deleted, all their works are automatically marked as "guest", and it would be way more complicated to find all their works we have to fix or remove, because we'd be forced to seek them in an ocean of indistinct "guests". It would make our work impossible.

Editor True-to-original translations.
<a href="/es/translator/michaelna" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1257575">MichaelNa</a>
Se unió: 29.08.2015
Slyzder wrote:

Hello,
I would like to suggest the automatic deletion of inactive accounts after a particular period of time.

There just one thing I would like to ask you:
I noticed you have contributed quite a few translations. Let’s say, God forbid, in the future something happens to you and you can no longer login into this site, should your name be erased from your translations because you’re no longer contributing? ....and automatically, too boot.

Moderator of comparative linguistics
<a href="/es/translator/knee427" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1110108">Alma Barroca</a>
Se unió: 05.04.2012

I see no harm in keeping the inactive accounts. If we do delete them, the content added by them would still show up [unless, as my fellow Mod said, the translations break rules and hence are unpublished], so I see no use in doing it.

Super Member
<a href="/es/translator/uncommon" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1414669">Schnurrbrat</a>
Se unió: 07.03.2019

I appreciate adding a poll to your suggestion, but I see why your suggesting likely be down voted - it's like erasing the author's name from the work once he/she is no more. Good enough, LT website has a nice feature, showing when the user was last time active.

Super Member
<a href="/es/translator/slyzder" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1186400">Slyzder</a>
Se unió: 03.09.2013

Thank you for stating your opinions on this issue. At least the accounts of users who added neither songs nor translations or who only did not add translations could be deleted after a period of time that would have to be established. :-)
All those who are liking posts in this thread may also still cast their vote in the poll.

Moderator and earthbound misfit
<a href="/es/translator/icey" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1172336">Icey</a>
Se unió: 05.04.2013

I still don't understand: what's the issue with old accounts? Why do you think they shouldn't stay?

Super Member
<a href="/es/translator/slyzder" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1186400">Slyzder</a>
Se unió: 03.09.2013

I held the opinion that it would be a disadvantage to them to keep their profiles still here even though they did not log in for such long time that one may think that they are no longer intrigued and, according to their imaginable opinion, don't need to be a member of this platform.
Contrarily, I would like to highlight again why the accounts of those who did not add any content that might have to be edited but only added requests should stay here if they only made the account for that sake. The requests would disappear anyways after account deletion.

Moderator of comparative linguistics
<a href="/es/translator/knee427" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1110108">Alma Barroca</a>
Se unió: 05.04.2012
Slyzder wrote:

(...) on the other hand, they might have lost their password as well as their email address or they are no longer conscious of being a member here in case that they have not been active for about ten years or longer.

In my run here, I've only seen this happen twice. LT merged both accounts and could restore access. It makes automatic deletion even less necessary, people can contact us at the touch of a button.

Super Member
<a href="/es/translator/slyzder" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1186400">Slyzder</a>
Se unió: 03.09.2013

Otherwise, you could issue a reminder email to users who have not logged in for many years, asking them whether they would still like to be a user on this platform and provide to them a link through which they could immediately have their profile deleted.

Añadir nuevo comentario