Russia is waging a disgraceful war on Ukraine.     Stand With Ukraine!

[SOLVED] Deleting autosaved items also deleted published translation

5 posts / 0 new
Super Member
<a href="/sr/translator/justanotherone" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1554304">justanotherone</a>
Датум придружења: 24.11.2022
Pending moderation

I am fairly new to the site and am still not so familiar with some of the functions.

Yesterday, I came across a few autosaved items under Draft. I opened one of them and realised that it was an edit I was working on that is no longer needed, since I had already published the translation. I clicked through delete and had it removed. Then I discovered that the published translation vanished too. I was able to paste it back from an off-line source. However, it was treated as if it was a new submission, views and thanks previously tied to the original translation vanished with it and the new translation is showing none of those pre-existing attributes.

I am now reluctant to delete irrelevant and outdated autosaves even though they ought to be removed.

It would be helpful if members have a little more control over what to do with these autosaves without affecting prior submissions/publications, whether they wish for a replacement or update of published items or do nothing with it. At a minimum, by default, deleting an autosave ought NOT to remove published items or affect them at all. Alternatively, perhaps these autosaves could be a totally separate and standalone records, independent of published records.

If there is an existing workflow to deal with this problem somewhere, please excuse my ignorance and I would also be grateful to be pointed in the right direction.

Many thanks.

Moderator
<a href="/sr/translator/altermetax" class="userpopupinfo username" rel="user1360194">altermetax</a>
Датум придружења: 04.11.2017

What steps did you take exactly? When you click on an autosaved item, you're brought to a page with a small popup on the bottom-left which says "This form was autosaved on <date&time>" and gives you the options to "Ignore" or "Restore" it, there is no "Delete". When you click on "Restore" the form will be filled with its autosaved contents, when you click on "Ignore" the autosaved item is deleted.
I'm just saying this in case you happen to have deleted the actual translation that the autosaved form referred to (by clicking on "Edit" at the top of the page and then "Delete" at the bottom).

Super Member
&lt;a href=&quot;/sr/translator/justanotherone&quot; class=&quot;userpopupinfo username&quot; rel=&quot;user1554304&quot;&gt;justanotherone&lt;/a&gt;
Датум придружења: 24.11.2022

I do not recall seeing "restore" or "ignore" either.

From Account>Draft then on the hyperlink under Autosave Forms in the From column. This table has two columns "From" and "Date".

I am going through these steps again for another autosaved item I still have at the bottom of Draft:

After clicking on the song title (under From), I am taken to what looks like a normal published translation page and I can click on Edit (green button), then at the bottom, I have only Save (green), Preview (green) and Delete (grey filled with black bold fonts but active).

If I click on Delete, I go to a new page with three grey filled buttons all with blue normal fonts, View, Edit, Revisions, below them
a warning that "This action cannot be undone", below that a green Delete button with bold black font, next to which is an underlined "Cancel"

Also there are items in the section when clicked takes me to a 404 screen.

Moderator
&lt;a href=&quot;/sr/translator/altermetax&quot; class=&quot;userpopupinfo username&quot; rel=&quot;user1360194&quot;&gt;altermetax&lt;/a&gt;
Датум придружења: 04.11.2017

Yes, that's the problem. If you do so, you'll delete the actual translation. To delete the cached form contents, you need to click on "Ignore" on the popup after clicking on the hyperlink in Account → Draft (do not click on "Edit", that'll bring you to the page that lets you edit the translation). This is what it looks like for me: https://imgur.com/a/sl01nHs

In any case, you can probably just ignore those autosaved forms, I think the older ones get deleted automatically when new ones appear.

Super Member
&lt;a href=&quot;/sr/translator/justanotherone&quot; class=&quot;userpopupinfo username&quot; rel=&quot;user1554304&quot;&gt;justanotherone&lt;/a&gt;
Датум придружења: 24.11.2022

Thank you so much. I have it now and had completely missed it. Really appreciate it.

Would this benefit from a more prominent display (larger, new location and permanence)? I actually didn't catch it in time after finally seeing it with your help.

Actually, the Mark As Solved button I feel could be positioned near the last comment in a thread or somewhere that it would not disappear with scrolling (instead of at the top of the right column) - a bit more intuitive for newbies like me.