Accepting a request to become friends leads to a textbox with an optional message. It says something like "Send Message (Optional)". If one accepts a request but avoids using this optional feature the following will happen:
1) this person's activity will show up in Friends Feed
2) this person will not show on a list of Friends
3) this request will still be active, unfulfilled.
Please double-check that it works as intended.